My Spring Garden

I haven’t really had many interesting things to blog about for a while! I didn’t want to bore you all with my day to day life pottering about the house! 

I really need to rewrite my schedule that would perhaps give me more order and structure and a better blog post!

Meanwhile, in the garden Spring is here in full form. I am very excited about this year’s fruit yield and hope to get lots!

In blossom now is my Mirabelle plum tree, it did well last year so this year I hope for the same or better. 

The blueberry also has little flowers on it, I recently potted it into some ericaceous compost, so hopefully it should thrive in there.

The red gooseberry plant I bought last year did not fruit at all but I have noticed several flowers on the plant so hopefully I will get a few fruits.

I also bought a blackcurrant last year that didn’t fruit as expected. It has grown so much since last year and there are also flowers appearing.

I purchased 3 fruit trees also last year – 2 Stella cherry trees and 1 Braeburn apple tree. The leaves have started to come out and I shall keep my fingers crossed for some blossom!

There were three fruit trees that were already here when we bought the house – a Morello cherry tree, a Victoria plum tree and an apple tree (can’t remember what type)! The apple tree did not even blossom last year and was attacked by some sort of insects! The plum tree had 2 blossoms last year but no fruit – this year it has 5 blossoms, an improvement!

However the cherry tree produced a large amount of cherries and this year it looks like it is going to produce a good yield again.

The strawberries have spread but are yet to flower, the rhubarb is growing well, the red and white currant bushes have produced leaves but not yet flowers. The raspberry and boysenberry are growing well and the grape vine is just starting to bud.

I am a little worried about my vegetables, the seeds that I sowed indoors in February have been transplanted into larger pots but they all look very sickly so I am not sure whether to try sowing some more or just try them straight outside. I have some more seeds starting off indoors (different veg) so hope they will be more sucessful! I have down directly into the soil some parsnip and radish seeds. I think I will be able to sow my carrots outside now and maybe some of my other vegetable seeds.

9 thoughts on “My Spring Garden

Leave a Reply

